Summer of Nothing: Dwight Smith Watch

On June 9, 2011, something remarkable happened.

I had nothing to do.

No schoolwork, no articles, no meetings, nothing.

It was then that I officially dubbed the summer of 2012 the “Summer of Nothing”. I have a part-time job where I write articles from home for 12 hours per week. After that, nothing.

With this new-found freedom that has escaped me for the past two years, I need to find some things to do to pass the time. Going to Pirates games and watching Game Show Network can only get me so far.

I really want to ramp up content on this blog over the next three months, and I received some inspiration from a likely source.

I had gone to Wal-Mart this past weekend and bought a pack of baseball cards (imagine that). In my pack of 2012 Bowman Baseball, a product that traditionally spotlights the biggest prospects in the game, I pulled this. A card autographed by Blue Jays prospect Dwight Smith.

I had never pulled an autographed card in my life to that point, and it gave me a brilliant idea. I’m not one for “prospecting” when collecting cards, but those who do like to collect young ballplayers’ cards and monitor their rise through the ranks. I’d figure I could do the same during this “Summer of Nothing” and keep tabs on Smith, who was the second-round pick of the Blue Jays in last year’s draft.

So it’s official, you are on watch Dwight, and I will be posting your progress on this blog from time to time. The “Summer of Nothing” could be the beginning of your rise to stardom, or making that piece of cardboard worth, well, the price of a piece of cardboard.

 

 

About suhlmann12
journalism student at Ohio University. Huge fan of Pittsburgh sports teams

Leave a Reply

